Analysis of my practice within ‘Live Art’

I’ve been trying to work out where my practice sits within this discipline.

I’m aware of the LADA and TATE Live streams and the general trend to Live Stream performances  from galleries, but this is more to extend the audience the as a part of the work.

I was aware of the Shia Le Boef in a Lift  performance but I have not been aware of other artists Live streaming as part of their practice.

I’ve unfortunately had to make the choice not to visit BA and MA Showsthis year so that I can be sure of completing my own work….so I’m not sure of emerging artists practice in this filed.

I‘ve been concentrating on my own use of the streams a mode of interaction and connection to extend ‘community’, a way of ‘open-source’ sharing and simultaneously creating my work with a  ‘non-art’ happenstance public audience, who become accidental participants and collaborators. I reached a stage where making and reflecting on that became more important than wondering what other people were doing…Possibly not good!

This next step will happen after the completion of the course in my case….

I’ve made a list though of Live Art practitioners whose work has resonances  with mine, but without, as far as I know, the live stream…

One thing that Interactive Periscope Streaming does, by allowing for conversation, is to make the work very affective I feel.

My first Research question was “How can digital technology produce affect?” and I think that the use of Periscope and similar can allows that.

So the list

Lygia Clark for her use of props  to encourage social interaction and the expression of ‘the embodied’ and affective work plus her links with anthropology.

Adrian Howells for his intimacy and sensitivity, in one-to one- performances. Something I could aspire to in some way with `Live stream….?

Ann Hamilton  ( does she count her self as a Live Artist?) for her relationship with site and archive but not ‘theatre’

Bill Drummond and also the very relevant events at Eastside Projects which I,sadly,  haven’t been able to get to…..but hopefully I will  get to Production Show before it finishes.

 Joshua Sofaer for his work with communities.

 Mike Pearson theatre performer and participation related to Archaeology and Tradition

‘folk’ performance.

 Hayley Newman  … maybe just an aspiration…

and maybe some elements of Juneau Projects  thrown in.

So in Summary

I don’t know where I fit in Live Art… if at all….

 

Published by

rhiannon evans

I'm an MA student at Camberwell College of Art studying for MA Fine Art Digital. Thanks for looking

Leave a Reply

