Selecting Images

Just a short post to explain my reasons for selecting the images above for the chocolate wrappers.

I was going to select just a single image but had several printed, mainly to see which looked best on the tiny wrappers.It is impossible to visualise how powerful, or not, an image will be at this size and how it will be read. Logos are different because of their graphic clarity, but this sort of image was so small on the original wrappers that they were not legible at all. Turning the wrappers round and changing the usual layout made a huge difference., though they are still very small, 33 x 40mm for the images. The wrappers themselves are 40 x 78mm but have to include the ingredients inc: allergens and a link to my periscope stream ( I’ve not put this on the front and it is too long and my stream can be accessed via Twitter anyway.) Once I’d altered the image position I also had space to credit the people whose images I used...none of them were ‘my ‘images, although I did ‘take’ the solar grams…by positioning the cameras, I guess.

I showed the proofs to several people with varying interest in ‘art’ or visual material. I asked them to pick up the images that ‘drew them in’ in order of choice. I’ve done this before when having exhibition postcards printed, but this time there was no common choice. In fact every image was chosen the same number of times as a first choice…. So I decided to have 100 each of all the images. Together they produce a narrative showing the  location, something of my process, the link with geographical space with the Trig point, social space with the tea-pot, and time passing with the solar gram.

I realise that will not necessarily be how they are read,but there are linking  objects  within each….from trig point to tent to teapot etc . This provides and exciting way to exhibit a non- linear fragmented narrative of documentation of an action. Just what I’ve been searching for and generate a conversation which re-animates the original action in a different form.

I really do feel though, that I have to give credit to Felix Gonzales-Torres, as the display of sweets and their consumption is not an original idea.… his work  below) has a more simple and poignant  conceit.felix-gonzalez-torres

Untitled (Portrait of Ross in L.A.) (1991) by Felix Gonzalez-Torres at the Met Breuer. Photo by @julianasteiner

 

 

Published by

rhiannon evans

I'm an MA student at Camberwell College of Art studying for MA Fine Art Digital. Thanks for looking

Leave a Reply

