Final Show Preparation 1

IMG_3669For some time now I’ve been selecting the image(s) to  print on the wrappers which will go around the chocolates for the Show.

I realised this would not necessarily be a straightforward choice, but it has been interesting, observing the way I feel and approach the choices and my reasoning behind them. The aim, to a certain extent is that people will engage with the objects ( the chocolates and the bowls they will be placed in ) sufficiently to look closer and pick one up; and then maybe take it away with them.

Essentially the chocolates serve as a promotional item to encourage access to my Twitter and Live stream during the Show. So, the image/s on the wrapper  should encourage engagement and participation and say ‘pick me up’…The Twitter name should be recognisable as a key to unlock the stream in social media, large enough to  say ‘ search for me’…. but not so large that it diverts all attention from the image.

Unlike normal promotional items there is no ‘logo’ as such, yet there is a sense of  ‘branding’. By making my profiles on social media more uniform, with the same image etc  and linking the accounts, there is a level of conformity  to the concept of my ‘ identity’ as a ‘brand’  that links with chocolate, social media, images,market,  commodification and  consumption. Especially within the context of a selling exhibition and increasing corporate involvement with arts education.

I have to be careful here or else the work will degenerate into a low level political rant without focus….if it hasn’t done that already…I need the images and the objects to, more than anything, illustrate the essential points of my work on Crouch Hill, highlighting those key thoughts of my research project, with allusions to the extended analysis and act as a promotional item!

I also want the small chocolates  to act as small objects  with the action of taking and eating one to stand in for the ‘small’ actions in  Bailey’s concept of time perspectivism

The distribution of the chocolates acts as a performative act of communal ‘sharing’ with each being a small ‘gift’,  referencing Marcel Mauss’s concept.

If I’m lucky, some people will follow my Twitter or Download Periscope and watch my stream. I guess it  may well follow the 1% Wiki Rule of Participation, with 9 out of every 100 participating ( Wiki’s case editing in my case viewing ) and maybe 1% chatting. But that’s just fine with me. If no-one does, well they have still been made and the process of making and discourse and action around it still took place and will continue in a narrative of embodiment  and possible future dissemination and re- mediation by the people involved.

I’ve finally settled on 5 images, rather than 1, which hopefully, provide an intriguing narrative to the most recent part of my process. I like the fact that the way they will be distributed during the Show leads to the fragmentation, non-linearity and un- finishedness of this narrative throughout a social space, with a continuing contingency of the story over time. See also post here about which I selected 

I didn’t want to do the layout for the printing  because my graphic skills are poor and  the local printers Banbury Print and Design work with the chocolatier, Belflair, to make the wrappers the correct size! Thanks Nicola, you’ve been great!

After lots of proofs ( they must be sick of me…..) with changes of text content, direction and font, I think they are there. I’ll send them to print later today. The images I’ve used are all by people who have been part of my work and so are credited with their copyright and permissions given.

Published by

rhiannon evans

I'm an MA student at Camberwell College of Art studying for MA Fine Art Digital. Thanks for looking

Leave a Reply

