That old documentation paradox again….

Following my broadcast on Monday, 13th June, I have made a decision not to document anymore Broadcasts. I will delete any video saved to my camera roll, if this should happen. I have more than enough material to work on and the excessive amount of documentation here within the Blog.

Paradox is at the heart of  my process including my excessive and compulsive documentation  and the contrast with  ephemerality of the medium. So for these last few weeks of the MA, and the broadcasts I make during the Final Show will cease to exist after 24 hours…at least as far as my hard-drives are concerned.

Does this feel uncomfortable.Yep, but the relationship between performance, documentation and archive  has never been an easy  or static one and I’ve wrestled with it throughout my practice

It will be time to look again at key works from Peggy Phelan’s Unmarked: The Politics of Performance ( 1993), Derrida’s Archive Fever ( 1995)  and works regarding performing the archive .

Just for now though, I’ve made my decision. The broadcasts will be listed on Periscope and there will be documentation of the number of viewers and other stats. that I can access on my phone for a limited period afterwards. This will include Peak numbers of viewers and a graph showing numbers over time (the latter is not possible to see here for this broadcast) There is also a list of viewers so that if I want to follow them or contact through Periscope or Twitter, I can…

I’ve posted some examples below. The graph is from a more recent broadcast.

On Twitter it will be possible for me to see a record of  Total Twitter activity  as below:

 

Leave a Reply

