Tutorial 27.05.2016

castethebest

This image is relevant….all will be revealed!

In my tutorial with Jonathan we covered lots of ground. I  put forward my ideas for Live stream during the show and how I would make sure there was something for viewers to see during the PV.

In preparing for the tutorial I’d realised that it had been difficult for me to make decisions that were solely for my practice, future professional practice as well as the final exhibition, and to leave aside more personal desires….as below..

Yet another conflict and ambiguity that seems to have pervaded  my work throughout the MA.

Getting used to organising an exhibition without being present may well be the way I have to work in the future .

The opportunity to organise set up/install  on-line and at a distance is providing me with just such an opportunity…Even if I’d really love to be there, involved with a team, and seeing everyone face to face.

In some ways it seems a sacrifice not to be involved in this way…but essential for my work, now and in the future.

So, we discussed the matter of delegation and distant, loose direction and how my practice so far had engaged with these techniques of working in participative and collaborative practice….and how exactly this would work for the Show.

I put forward ideas for how the audiences would access my stream, when the streams would be and some of the content on the various dates; especially a performative exchange for the PV night.

Also, how different audiences would be notified or made aware of the actions and events during the week of the Show.

I explained some of the links and associations which are important  for the final pieces and how I see them working together.

Jonathan was more than supportive and I was very over excited really as, for once, things seem to be reaching some point of resolution at about the right time….

I’ll  post more details but there will be no specific timetable…just something every 24 hours to ensure at least one lifestream is accessible via Twitter/ Periscope every day of the Show.

I’ve really tried to cut down on any excess for the show as there is so much layering, fragmentation and ‘stuff’ in my work I need some clarity.

I mentioned to Jonathan about my Geocache thoughts…which I’ve decided to put on hold… they are not for now but another piece of work for the future… and he agreed.

I also discussed some of my thoughts about reciprocality, participation, collaboration and audience.

We’d had a talk the previous day by Charlotte Webb about her PhD and it set me thinking about future study….whether my practice is more suited to research in other disciplinary areas…

I shared a few thoughts with Jonathan about this too..

 

Leave a Reply

