Digital Media Workshop at OVADA

Introduction to Digital Media for Artists- Ovada 

Ovada studios Oxford held  a Digital Media for Artists Workshop a couple of weeks ago in association with Magdalen Road Art Studios Oxford.

I haven’t managed to get to many of the events here recently  and have had still not managed to get to Magdalen Road  for a look around but thought this made be useful.

The Presentation  It All Works Together ,which is available on pdf here DigitalWorkshop  was by Katie Taylor, Studio Manager at MR and mainly about Twitter, how to use  Hashtags and direct messaging, how often and what to Tweet (and what not to Tweet), what to include on a professional profile and what to save for personal feeds. How it is best to link accounts etc.

It was fairly basic but there were some useful tips for me and it was good to catch up with colleagues, both painters,  afterwards and discuss whether they thought Social Media havre a role in their practice as promotion tool. We mulled over thoughts about digital social space and the real thing, how they operate, where they are, who they are, what they do etc and what they mean for my practice.We have very different perspectives and that’s always useful to thrash out!

Consistency

One thing that was useful though thinking more about ‘how it all works together’ and so I’ve spent quite a while on updating and bringing some uniformity to my various Social Media Platforms to provide more consistency throughout. Its difficult with having different ‘hats’ for different jobs… my own personal practice, Community -based work, herbalist practice etc with various websites and links associated and often conflicting to some extent in content. At least now everything relating to my MA practice has the same image, I hope, and is linked visually as well as in contact. I’ve also tidied up my YouTube channel and Vimeo account and added some content on my profiles, descriptions of videos etc. to make a process easier to follow, I hope.

It was somewhat ironic that I’d come aware of  with Katie https://twitter.com/bigTangle  some time ago through a ‘real social network’. A friend sat next to her at another friend’s  birthday party, got chatting, thought I may be interested in her work and we exchanged emails. As it goes we never met up, both busy… but here we were at Ovada..at a meeting about social media….

I had a chat with her afterwards about my use of Periscope and she asked me to visit her and mull over my experiences and insights in the near future. So that’s a prompt.

Magdalen Road is another option for involvement when I finish the MA

Unfortunately I can’t be involved beforehand but I can ‘watch and learn’, see what they are doing via Twitter and do more when the time comes.

A useful and pleasant evening.

Published by

rhiannon evans

I'm an MA student at Camberwell College of Art studying for MA Fine Art Digital. Thanks for looking

Leave a Reply

