Sharing memories of Santillana del Mar

Connectivity: Problems and solutions

I’ve been spending a lot of time trying to sort out the poor connectivity and pixelation problems with my Broadcasts.

Increasingly , people are hopping on and then dropping out. Although audience numbers as viewers on the scopes are not the reason for the work, it does mean that it is rendering the broadcasts ineffective, even if there are no viewers for other reasons… I appreciate that viewers are not enjoying the experience of the broadcasts and that the remediation is incomplete and inefficient.

I’ve investigated getting a new phone as mine is an iPhone 4S, reconditioned. I’ve  tried using a Vodafone SIM as this phone is unlocked, (Louise’s  Android works well on Vodaphone from this location) but with limited improvement

A new phone will have to wait a while until other avenues have been investigated, as I have a contract which is only due for renewal in July and the early upgrade fees are too high for me to afford.

After I’d broadcast as below I spent some more time in the tent playing around with my son’s Chromebook laptop which has 3G to see if I could get any sort of signal at all. I was hoping for a future event on May 1st to interview some people via Skype or replay some video material, show images and text from a laptop via Periscope for discussion. However no signal was available and as my phone signal ( 3 or vodaphone) is not so strong or reliable I could’t use either as hotspot.

I was playing around in the tent with two laptops, three phones and 2 SIMs when a couple came past walking their dog. I explained what I was doing in the tent with photographs, slides, laptops, miniature clogs etc  and why……They understood and were interested. Their  son is an art student at Kingston School of Art….

Sharing the memories

After having the conversation with Andrea from Asturias during the Yes and No game, about Santillana del Mar. I arranged a time when we could meet via Periscope to show here some of my ‘memorabilia’! Photographs, maps, slides, souvenirs and postcards …all shown via Periscope.

I contacted her via Twitter @andrepr3 along with some of the other people who’d been in the chat and were interested in coming along.  I ‘ve posted the link here  to the messages rather than a screen shot. When I realised that she wasn’t able to make the Broadcast as she was playing football somewhere else at the time I posted some of the images on Twitter as well, scanned for the original slides and photographs.

I spent a very long time trying to find replacement bulbs both in local shops and on-line, for the hand-held Boots 2000 35mm battery Slide viewer that you can just see in the clip  and is like this one here...if it still is on Ebay! but in the end, no success… I tried to hold the slides up to the phone camera and into the sun…. but of course it was useless… that was the point of the exercise really! A fascinating analogue/ digital juxtaposition though in what I hope was a humorously nostalgic action.

I had hoped to project some of the slides by saving the digital images to my phone and projecting from a battery powered Pico projector but sadly the tent isn’t dark enough ( I did try this earlier on when I first used the tent.

There is of course no power source for a mains projector.Using a generator would not be practical in this location and also makes the whole event too semi-permanent and controlled.

Above is a short edit of the broadcast saved to Katch with the Tweets on either side.

I made the video for the Final Symposium video but had to cut it because of time.

As I upload it it will be posted to Twitter via YouTube.

The edited version of this post will also be posted on Twitter… both  somewhat out of the timeframe…as I am finally posting from a draft in June!

Analysis

An example of continuing re-mediation of archive and memory over time, temporality of space, networks of social space, linked to mapped space and simultaneity in action. Along with the ritual of sharing and rendition of analogue images via a digital live stream network and this again, this blog.

There is also a re-animation of embodied memory through the action of sharing of the images and my story-telling as I shared my memories and ‘re-lived’ the trip myself.

 

 

Leave a Reply

