Questioning the i Ching- games without frontiers continued

Following the trials in the studio I took the games up the Hill.

I tried unsuccessfully to play Mancala  with my ‘scoping technician, dog walker and friend Louise but the signal was poor, so not much  chat, and the dogs kept jumping on me… so we abandoned after 6 minutes.

I Ching

Louise went home and I stayed to read the i Ching. That wasn’t ‘ successful’ from the point of  view of interaction  either… but as an event and series of actions ..it was done, it happened.

I used the i Ching because strange associations I found with digital ‘roots’, and my practice.

I’ll summarise as follows:

  • The links between the iChing and binary code described in this piece in the Guardian by Damien Walters and also this Wikipage which shows the list of 64 iChing Hexagrams and their Unicode character codes… so there is another link here between contemporary and ancient writing of text and the writing of code…somehow a link with contemporary linguistics………
  • Reading Philip K Dick’s novel  recently – The Man in the High Castle, which investigates a world where Germany and Japan won WW 2 and America is occupied by the Axis forces. In this, the ancient Chinese oracle is consulted to make moral decisions. I’m interested in the boundaries between rationalism, empiricism and mysticism and where they are positioned in different cultures…historically and in the present.
  • Although I used cards for the divination here, traditionally Yarrow stalks are used. As a practising herbalist, I use Yarrow as a tool and medium, and some of the plant grows on the Hill. I hope to do further work with it when the plant has regrown in the spring. There is a link between the set, my ‘other’ practise, distant cultures, ritual practice of investigation into the future and distortions of time and the alternative realities of science fiction.

More Yes and No : closed questions about Time and Space

At the beginning of April I managed to repeat the Yes and No game, but up the Hill.

I don’t usually like repletion and rehearsal of an event within my work ( the rituals and traditions have their own system of repetition and aside of that) However,  goes ( and the icing) are repeated ritual practices, so this felt comfortable within the conceit of the work.

The questions, this time, are about Time and Space, introducing some of the issues I had been considering in my Research Paper.

Again, the Yes and No had a large number of participants, with lots of chat,between viewers and myself.

One viewer was from a place I visited many years ago on a memorable cycling trip to Northern Spain.

I promised to search out my photos and memorabilia of the trip and show her them in a subsequent broadcast,which we arranged during the chat.

Also, and this wasn’t the first time, someone asked if I was from Blackpool ( as they were)… this is a reference to my Username…san(d)growun.one grown from the sand

Links with site, personal autobiographical memory, present experience really did lead to a very intimate exchange and ,for me at least, feeling son attachment to the viewersand followers… at least during and shortly after the Scope.

Screen Shot 2016-05-21 at 12.45.14Screen Shot 2016-05-21 at 12.37.44

Published by

rhiannon evans

I'm an MA student at Camberwell College of Art studying for MA Fine Art Digital. Thanks for looking

Leave a Reply

