Low Residency Week 2

23.2.16

I stayed in Brixton for this part of the Low Res. with a colleague.

I arrived early enough on Tuesday to discuss our practices. We were also in the process of applying for an opportunity at Tom’s Etching Studio so we need to discuss that and finalise the death;s with the others in our collective application.

More of this in another post…

In the evening I had chance to discuss the use of social media, especially Periscope, with an advertising exec. It was really enlightening to hear how it can be used as marketing tool and the subtleties involved, the conflicts with the ethical considerations of my practice, notwithstanding.

 

24.2.16

Sound Workshop with Ed Kelly

I couldn’t make it to the Collaborative making projects on the Monday and Tuesday, which was real shame.

Some of the work the groups produced looked amazing especially the projection on to a square of soil.

It reminded me of my projections onto Salt Way. Jonathan described how mesmerising it had been. This was the same description as used by the audience when I projected and reprojected the video last year.

I think it may have something to do wit projection on to a dark and uneven surface… so the images move in 3 dimensions..

I hope to put a link in to this when it gets onto the MAFAD Wiki/ website.

I chose to go to the Sound workshops as I expected it to be in the Digital suite and using Cubase etc. and cancelled my attendance at a Creative Arts Dementia Network meeting at the Pitt Rivers Museum in Oxford, to go to it.

A hard professional decision to make but as this was the last opportunity to take part in workshops at Camberwell I decided it had to take priority.

If I’m completely honest, I possibly made the wrong decision, for me, professionally speaking.

Ed took us through PDExtended Open Source Software for sound creation and edit.

We played about for a bit making patches, which I vaguely remembered from an on-ine workshop last year.

But what with downloading the software and a dodgy Wi-Fi I didn’t feel we made much progress.

Later Ed showed us the possibilities for combing Arduino and other sensors and micro-processors to create interactive sounds.

This was useful although doubt fun that I would want to use it within my practice at present it’s always useful to know about what can be done…. and again… who has the knowledge for advice and collaboration in the future. Here are some images of what we did. I have some notes in sketchbook for reference but to be honestI don’t feel confident with it….Retrospectively, I think I should’ve gone to the CDAN Meeting… but only time will tell…..

 Techno Viking: film

One of the first internet memes with a complex legal battle following which was resolved 13 Years after the original video was made.

A fascinating story and thought provoking.

Even more relevant when combined with a lecture this week from Silvia Baumgart who runs ‘own-it’

25.2.16

 Experimental Group Tutorial see link 

and afterwards Alejandro and  Terry brought in some 3D scanners and we played around with those for a while.

Applications and CV’s

In the Afternoon we had some essential information presented about making successful exhibition and Award applications… no doubt I’ll refer back to that a fair bit… and Successful Artists CV’s explained by Hannah Breslin from UAL Careers and Employability.

It really helps that she was a Postgrad Arts Student at Goldsmiths so she understands the way we are likely to approach things

Useful tips for applications…

  • Use quotes from an audience about our work.
  • Ask the audience what they think
  • Include thoughts about future audiences and audience development
  • Demonstrate measurable goals
  • Critically reflect on practice and try to ‘pin stuff down’
  • Use any feedback from visitors
  • Measure age, numbers and locations of audiences
  • Show evidence of good professional working within the application
  • Get help to read and check it from somebody else
  • Remember CLARITY
  • Not all on a selection panel will have an Arts Background so reduce Artspeak
  • Use SpecificMeasureableAcheiveableRealisticTimebased SMART goals (this all sounds sooooo corporate but I guess we need to be in it to win it)

another useful list… obvious really but I’ll put it in all the same..

Who Where What Why When

and the key:

FIND A COMMON CONNECTION BETWEEN MY WORK AND THEIR INTERESTS

  • Use simple language
  • Remember to describe friend’s skills as professionals
  • Put contact details on EVERY PAGE
  • Supply paper copies of documents
  • Name and NUMBER all images
  • Be selective – only apply for things which are applicable to our practice
  • Send speculative applications on Paper as well as via email.
  • Use the Hemingway app to keep language clear

Other especially useful addresses are:

http://www.arts.ac.uk/student-jobs-and-careers/get-jobs-advice/how-to-build-a-portfolio/

http://artquest.org.uk

https://www.a-n.co.uk

http://www.arts.ac.uk/student-jobs-and-careers/get-jobs-advice/how-to-fill-out-job-applications/

26.2.16

Visit to Stations of the Cross 

This was an opportunity to visit 3 or 4 of the 14  Stations of the Cross situated around London from Kings and University of Cambridge

As before, the group moved around  very slowly like a Slime Mould…

“Slime mold or slime mould is an informal name given to several kinds of unrelated eukaryotic organisms that can live freely as single cells, but aggregate together to form multicellular reproductive structures.”    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slime_mold

We met at St Pauls for  Station Eleven
Crucifixion: Jesus is nailed to the crossSt Paul’s Cathedral   Martyrs (Earth, Air, Fire, Water), 2014 by Bill Viola and Kira Perov

and then went to  Temple Church for Station Fourteen
Jesus is laid in the tombThe Temple Church Triforium (upper level)   Crude Ashes, 2016 by Leni Diner Dothan,

 

Both were moving. Personally, I usually find Bill Viola’s work moves me to tears.

It is so technically accomplished and slick…. but still references ritual practices and mythology and so is relevant to my work

As I write the blog, I’m reflecting a little on the meaning of the Stations of the Cross , regardless of faith, as a myth: Easter also.

Joan Jonas – Whitechapel Gallery

After this, because I’m a glutton for punishment, I went to a conversation between

Iwona Blazwick and Joan Jonas at the Whitechapel

Unknown-7

She is a hero/ine of mine and her ritual/ symbol/myth based performance practice has been very influential

The conversation was lovely, gentle, informative. I did not feel as if I was in the presence of an icon.

The conversation reflected on her work from Mirrors to present day. There were some large and expensive but wonderful books on sale..interestingly I didn’t want to buy one! I was happy with the lovely free ‘programme’.

I dont want to copy what she did/does… just learn from it.

Then I went home!

Leave a Reply

