Experimental Group Tutorial and Tutorial with Rosie Sherwood

Experimental Group Tutorial: 25.2.16

After my Group Tutorial fiasco presentation in the first week of the Low Res, I decided to prepare a selection of images to refer to and talk around in the Experimental Group Tutorial in the second week.

I had no idea about what format it would take so it was a daft idea really but the sudden realisation that I can’t do ‘these things’  things on the fly anymore made me need to plan, even for something I knew nothing about….interesting concept.

Jonathan described to us a way of encouraging personal reflection during this Tutorial.

Each of us in turn described a single question we had about our own work, arrived at through about 10 minutes of silent contemplation.

Then we explored this through members of our group asking only open questions about our question. Quite an interrogation, as it turned out.

I was in a group with Sharon and Philip, which I was happy about and felt comfortable with.I think this helped with the process, especially as it was the first time we’d tried it.

We were generally pretty good at regulating ourselves and each other regarding not commenting and not asking closed questions, so I felt the whole process was very useful…though not easy either as a questioner or as the one being questioned.

There were quite a few times when I was wriggling around in physical discomfort at the issues I was ‘forced’ to confront… barriers I was aware of and that I was party to in my own development.

At the end, when we had all had ‘a turn’, we had another reflection and chance to write down our conclusions.

My question was

How do I balance the local/social/political aspects of my work with any national/political  concerns without one overwhelming the other?..(particularly when working at certain sites)

I don’t remember the questions that I had most difficulty answering and didn’t write down lots of notes doing the process, partly because one member of the group was recording all the sessions but also because I didn’t want to stop the ‘flow’ of gradually realisation..

There were 2 key questions that I must still ponder upon..

Where am I a local?

What do I mean by external expectations?

These are key questions form the point of view of audience and participation/ collaboration.

One decision that I formed afterwards ( which is of course still open to change..)

To make choices of materials for inclusion in my work using a ‘chance’ system similar to the one used but John Cage – Philip mentioned Metamorphosis ( interesting as I have been researching the iChing for a while now).

This would remove personal choices and influence at any one time…

But there would be some structure within the categories of materials accummulated.

This idea of a paradoxical arrangement between structure and chance comes up again below

Tutorial with Rosie Sherwood : 1.2.16

She did the MA Book Arts at Camberwell some years ago and runs a publishing company.

We had a lecture on her work on a Live Stream.

Her work is  based on meta-comics…comics about the structure of comics.

 

Unknown-9
Elbow Room – Rosie Sherwood
Unknown-8
She Must – Rosie Sherwood

As a last minute thing I had the chance of a tutorial with Rosie Sherwood. I booked in because

  • Its always good to have another set of eyes to look at your work.
  • I’ve been thinking long and hard ( draft post…) about the non-linear narrative in my work and how to best represent that…struggling with Storify and video…. thinking about magic realism and how that works in literature to fracture narrative.
  •  I’d had a brief look at on-line comics some time ago and how they function with linear and non- linear narrative.
  • Ideas of truth and fiction
  • I like books and was considering going on a Book- making day course  next weekend.. just because.

The Tutorial was very enlightening and inspiring.

I’d already got the images below for her to look at whilst I described my work.

Almost instantly she saw ‘ a book’ in Ordnance Survey, which I hadn’t noticed… the laminations as pages.

How could I not have seen that!!

I was so excited that I talked too much and listened too little… but here below are some of the key nuggets for future use.

  • Comics are about Time and Space.
  • Rosie has investigated the comic format because of this relationship – especially with time
  • The comic explores the boundary between books and other genres
  • The panels offer a structure but also freedom
  • Although here is a linear format of panel, reading takes place across panels and ? ‘trips the structure’ into a non- linear narrative as the reader works across the structure.
  • The spaces below the panels are known as the gutter ( the white spaces). These operate between the creator and the comic and leave space for the imaginatio

She suggested that with any participative event that there maybe some opportunity for participants/ audience to feedback other than just through direct participation –

This maybe particularly relevant regarding the occurrence of coincidences…I guess it depends on whether or not I want these to be recorder or documented… or just assume they will happen and that I will be made aware of some of them through general conversation…

She suggested that I try working with Storify but just using images instead of using as a text-based platformand working with the layers of history in this way

Maybe I will use the images that I used in the short video but in Storify and see what happens then.

She also referenced Concrete poetry which I had explored a little but then discarded

Maybe time for a re-think

” Building Stories in a box”

This is something I did in my Foundation and often think about… making a structured no-linear narrative..

Maybe I could investigate this…if not for this work… in the future…

As I write this I am thinking about the memory boxes that are used in Reminiscence workshops with people with dementia!

 *KEEP THIS THOUGHT*

Maybe use all these ideas together!!!

She gave me the following references

The Unwritten – Mike Carey

Understanding Comics – Scott McCloud ( which is written as a comic)

Artists as Cartographers – Walking and mapping by Karen O’Rourke ( which I took out of the library some time ago… should re- read now I know why I’m getting it out!)

I may have lost a Post-it and if so this Post will be updated…again!

Leave a Reply

