Redacted Vocabulary and thoughts for the future

I really struggle with the vocabulary of what I do now .. art/ social science and critical thinking come hard to me…unlike biological language which I absorbed over a long period of my development and feel intrinsic to my understanding of some systems.

I struggle with Deleuze and Guattari’s principle of rhizome..not the concept itself but the description….to some extent a challenge of what I understand about rhizomatic roots as a botanist .. see this post The Affect of Philosophical theory in the exploration of non-linear narratives!

Some important new to me terminology here

Redaction is a form of editing in which multiple source texts are combined (redacted) and altered slightly to make a single document. Often this is a method of collecting a series of writings on a similar theme and creating a definitive and coherent work.

It is also used to mean the censorship of documents before publication by removing or obscuring it, while still making it clear that the information has been removed, for example by blacking it out, or by replacing it with a note. ( another quick Wiki reference confession)

Unknown-3

This is the sort of the process I am using to assemble material which I then remediate through the work I make and as part of that work through social media Periscope …..…a sort of time space /collage maybe or an assemblage

Ideas for the future: include ? Events at my house and in other locations.

I found these images of Jenny Holzers  Redaction Paintings at acca Melbourne in 2010

She said in the interview “I use everything”..………projections

 

Published by

rhiannon evans

I'm an MA student at Camberwell College of Art studying for MA Fine Art Digital. Thanks for looking

Leave a Reply

