November 22nd: Drawing Weapons, Cut-up text

On Sunday 15th November I researched the flintlock and matchlock muskets and pistols I’d seen in the display about the Edge Hill battle and grabbed some low res photos from the internet. They are replicas for sale from Military Heritage .com

I also checked out the most commonly used weapons used by the British Army in conflict at the moment.

I came across the  L85a2 rifle , although there are a host of others on this British Army website for future reference –  Full details are available.

I wanted to draw images of these and leave them on the Red Road trail in Kineton see below for the rationale.

So I traced them on to tracing paper  and cut them  out. I made some Scopes of me doing the tracings. A rather literal reference to ‘Trace’ but it felt as if it may be effective in this context.

 

The Scoped streams  weren’t that popular.Very few viewers.

I can see from Twitter that I broadcast them at about 5.30pm UK Time ( 8 hrs later than the Twitter feed says…).There were lots of broadcasts at the time from Paris and Belgium as events unfolded.

#Musket doesn’t sound that enticing…. by comparison..if enticing is the right word.

Not click bait anyway.

I’m putting these videos  in the blog long after I made the drawings and now have Final Cut, so as practice and playing to learn bit more and become more confident, I’ve made these into a very short movie.

I’ve reduced each clip to 1 second for the stills and 1 1/2 secs for the Periscope clips, used the Combat video effect for all .

No transitions apart from a Cross fade at the end but played around with the Ken Burns quite a bit so that the detail of some weapons was highlighted or the viewer moves from the trigger to the end.

With each clip being just one second there is a sort of Shot-like feeling which happened by accident but I’ve emphasised I hope by using the Ken Burns in this was with an image which has some length. I actually enjoyed playing about with these. Now I understand a little more through watching the Essential Training on Lynda and just messing with other bits of vid.

Anyway the videos are  here below:

Not piece of work…. just an exercise and some documentation

Maybe though I’ll use some of these techniques again.

The audio of the radio programmes on this one includes the BBC World Service News that happened to be on the radio as I was working. It  is interesting and relevant from the global conflict contextual point of view. I may use this as material later.

I also spent some time cutting out small pieces of text from the newspapers reporting the Paris attacks.

The idea is to scatter these along the Red Road and the Civil War trail on another visit.

This will act in a similar way to Dadaist cut-ups and act as a local ‘anti-war’ action.

I’d played around with this idea of cut-ups previously  in The Reading Room Event see here  see the end of the post.

The tracings and the cut-ups will be visible and read by anyone walking the public right of way, whether they are local people out for a stroll or MOD personnel.

The images and text forming part of a visible layer of evidence of past and present action within the locale and globally.

People will have to stoop and look closely to see what the images are and read the new messages create by chance form the Cut-Ups.

At least, that’s the plan.

I broadcast several long scopes (The Twitter messages  from the Scopes saying that they were made on 20th November at about 12.30pm, with the time adjustment) when I was making the cut-ups. I’ve hastily chopped them up to preserve the key process rather than the whole Scopes which involve me dropping the phone, getting, sitting down etc.

Interestingly these are OK viewing for Scopers I feel but as Documentation here …not so good.. It’s long anyway.

I’ve included some stats and had lots of viewers  for this activity, below

What is interesting about the Viewers is the breadth of the nationalities and locations.

I saved these videos to Phone Camera Roll  and that’s handy .

Though you don’t get the chat visible or the Hearts that people send..not visible on my list but evident on my  camera role….possibly low signal???

The final image shows some of the cut up text and gives an idea of what may happen when it is scattered or ‘Broadcast’ as they say about seed.

There is an idea here about scattering the ‘seeds’ of (?) entrenched ideology set within the text, font and therefore narrative  of the newspapers

and also about this ideology being embedded within the soil and the memory.

It reminds me of Pierre Nora’s thought on how the collapse of rural society has affected philosophical thinking and his ideas of a memory ‘rooted in the soil’

The proliferation of memoirs, genealogies, and autobiographies by ordinary individuals, to Nora, is the inevitable result of the transition from rural to industrial societies. Traditionally, memory in rural France rested with the soil. With the decline of rural life, memory was traced more to the self, and to psychology, hence the growing individualism and individuation of historical memories. (Nora, 11)

From History and Historical Memory an Introduction

or alternatively the broadcasting of political and religious messages ( such as what goes on across the borders of North/South Korea)

The term ‘Broadcast’ was used historically in farming  when the seed was scattered by hand and then machine… rather than the mechanised seed drill used now, where the implement cuts into the soil and the seed are dropped into the slot which is left.

EDIT : January 2016  See also this post A further video combining  the broadcasts, documentation videos and stills.Protected: ‘Re-visited’: November 22nd: Drawing Weapons and cut-up text

See also this post Broadcast Balloons where I wrote about it in more detail.

Published by

rhiannon evans

I'm an MA student at Camberwell College of Art studying for MA Fine Art Digital. Thanks for looking

Leave a Reply

