Tutorial with Jonathan Kearney 29.10.2015

My tutorial started with a brief review of my trip to Manchester/ Salford and some discussion about ritual, collective memory and elements of affect and placenot exactly a psychogeographic experience as there was ‘drifting’ within parameters of the prescribed event but certainly a degree of playfulness at times despite the reason for the visit. An interesting coexistence…

I chatted about how my perceptions of this sort have event have extended since discovering other considerations of ‘place’…. and how not all my thoughts and experiences could be expressed on my blog. When personal expression of thoughts may affect others some perspicacity and editing are necessary.

Luckily I had a short burst of temporary clarity last night and this morning before my tutorial so I was able to focus on a few ideas I may use to follow through and other considerations.

These have become clear though the work I did last year , in particular The Reading Room event and the process of writing my research paper as well as the content of it.

Time to focus down-

  1. The theme of broadcast from an agricultural and media point of view…(short discussion of underlying ideology of ‘We Plough the Fields and Scatter’…strangely the Jehova’s Witnesses came to the door around this time!…Hmmmm)
  2. Returning to Old Work and locations but seen in light of new perspectives and increased awareness of old perspectives
  3. Continuing with work from earlier in the MA.
  4. Making digital involvement more explicit or ubiquitous in the work ( actually I didn’t bring this up as a point but had it on my list and it was addressed anyway during the discussion.

Lessons learnt from past work –

  1. Risks of becoming too close for objectivity if working within communities ( this affects my ability to act autonomously as an artist,- my responsibility- not theirs, but a trap I easily fall into for reasons I won’t discuss in this brief ( -ish ) post.
  2. Layers of time/space and space/ time need to be extended beyond literal representations displayed through layering in 2 and 3D and even beyond filmic ( +/- performative ) understandings of 4D.
  3. The absolute imperative of Contingency which is not a part of for e.g. Shona Illingworth’s work…
  4. Understanding and planning for my own personal physical and cognitive limitations and their unpredictability and building that into my practice and display methodology.
  5. Only feeling able to address a local audience is ‘cutting off my nose to spite my face’. I will be able to address both a local and gallery ‘white space’ audience possibly simulatneously.

Jonathan’s responses were encouraging

  1. Revisiting old work can be positive – (  I will reassess  it in the light of new information – space)
  2. Restrictions and practicalities can lead to a positive way of working.I can adapt my methodology to document and display in a variety of areas whilst making the work and after the event. He suggested building a collection of small pieces of work over a period of time – which suits me and I guess I have worked this way before but without realising what I was doing!This is exactly the same as when I was doing my BA but now I understand it at a different level of consciousness…a bit like what happens in ‘therapy’ where you realise something that you have always known.. just at a different level …
  3. He introduced me to Periscope and Storify ( think he had mentioned Storify before… or someone did but for some reason…????…. I chose to ignore it… which may serve my purpose better than Twitter, Snapchat ( though I still like it’s temporary nature) and Vine – by building my documentation into my process. I steered away from this before after my tutorial at tutorial with Dave Charlesworth in March . He suggested I should work in film which could be projected bigger rather than mobile phone footage. He was right . I have developed some..limited… skill in this area and will use it too but  for longer static takes  for different approaches to the space. Jonathan discussed how most shots are 20 seconds long! This could be used to build up content. I guess I did a bit of this in Michaelmas last year..
  4. He pointed out that I do not need a large audience and that is true. Small actions are significant. I discussed how I want to act as a catalyst of action which becomes embodied in others as form of documentation. This documentation is then contingent in subsequent action and so in itself….
  5. He say that I need a way to provide visual access to my deeper thoughts… I can’t remember what he suggested regarding this as I interrupted with ideas about using performative writing… but we agreed that sometimes this can be a bit ‘navel gazing and  impenetrable’ ( though I find it opens doors of thought when I read for example Yve Lomax- even if I’m not sure what she is talking about…). I think that some of the text I have used has a performative quality so maybe stick to that…and use some of it as my own process of arriving at work… rather than being part of the work itself.

He also suggested I watched the latest Camberwell lecture by Lucy Orta about her social intervention/ participative work. Which I did…very interesting and a topic for another post later…

Published by

rhiannon evans

I'm an MA student at Camberwell College of Art studying for MA Fine Art Digital. Thanks for looking

Leave a Reply

