“Giving credit where credit is due”: Copyright

The quote above has been attributed to Samuel Adams, American Philosopher and Statesman. Better acknowledge him as this post is about authorship, citation and copyright!

I have several draft posts hidden away that I haven’t got round to posting and several of them just have bits about citations and copyright in them.

Its been on my mind a lot recently party because of the lecture at the Lumen Prize about the system for copyright of Digital Material and the lawyer, Greg McMullen , who spoke about it… and the general discussion we had about that, AscribeGreg’s Twitter account, and Blog.

We discussed his approach and also the sheer ‘possibility’ of it…. being able to track everything..vs Creative Commons Licensing which is clear and simple and has been around a fair while.

We had a discussion around the need for copyright, acknowledging work, appropriation and invisible, unconscious appropriation, I think…need to check back on the Skype chat.

It felt very appropriate to me as I have recently copied a film of mine on to a friend’s son’s desktop so he could look at it and crit it at home. I haven’t uploaded it to Vimeo or YouTube, as it may not be finished, and I felt a strong sense of Ownership to it, unusually .. and didn’t just want it shared around….Stupid then to just pass it on….but I didn’t think about it as I would have a drawing etc.

Also I’d been thinking about making different versions or editions of the same film for different audiences…So the discussion seemed very relevant.

Now ,everything seems to be about copyright and referencing, as I was at the stage of building a Zotero collection of references for my Bibliography, it made me think of the copyright issue as I tried to gain access to various papers through various Academic Data bases with and without permissions through Jstor and similar and the origins of OpenSource and the extensions of that now….politically and so on.

With collectives like Assemble I suppose the issue doesn’t really arise as it is clearly stated in the nature of the ‘authorship’ by  the group.

“Assemble are a collective based in London who work across the fields of art, architecture and design. They began working together in 2010 and are comprised of 18 members. Assemble’s working practice seeks to address the typical disconnection between the public and the process by which places are made. Assemble champion a working practice that is interdependent and collaborative, seeking to actively involve the public as both participant and collaborator in the on-going realization of the work.

ASSEMBLEWORKSHOP055-copy2

Then I had some thoughts about the work I did with people serving in the prison at Bullingdon and showing their work in the future… the ‘permission’ forms they signed with regard to showing their work in the future. How some chose to sign their work.

There was an interesting conversation about authentication of a work by Jackson Pollock which had his DNA in it and how now artists are being encouraged to leave some DNA in their work for’ future proof’ of provenance – nothing to do with ‘sharing’ of ideas but is about a market.

A friend once described Frieze Art Fair as ‘ Just like the Motor Show’ – commodity and commercial .I also listened to a little of this lecture and heard this quote at 36 mins 36 secs.Brian Eno‘s lecture on ecosystems in music – John Peel lecture at the British Library

 “New ideas are articulated by individuals but generated by communities.”

This takes me back to the ‘meaning’ of the work projecting onto a body… that  people are at the core of my work….4- way projection – Slides and videoAssemble started as architects working in space and place…I really have to work out what is going on my research paper from this POV and how all this fits together..

What is community in my case and what are the boundaries in terms of ‘space’ and place…. how far does it extend and over what ‘duration’.

Leave a Reply

