Illustrated Man- Ray Bradbury and projection

I’ve been reading the Illustrated Man- Ray Bradbury  sci- fi book.   I used to really enjoy Ray Bradbury, John Wyndham and all this..

Farenheit 451 interesting politically but also now re- digital reading etc….and the ‘destruction’ of the book….

Unlike Philip K Dick which seems prophetic, this book seems very sparse and  focusses  on living Mars after the destruction of the world!- Not jolly but interesting bearing in mind the news this week about ‘water’ on Mars…

As I was reading the initial description about the illustrations moving  across the subject’s body I thought of the work  projecting moving images on to a body 4- way projection – Slides and video

When I did that I realised that the reason was that I wanted people and ’embodiment ‘ to be at the centre of my practice , if not the theory behind it –  moment of realisation 

Now I’m wondering if I should look again at this projecting onto flesh….the body as a screen…..

iur

Leave a Reply

