Outline for Research Paper

On Tuesday we had a group chat with Gareth Polmeer who is to be our Research Paper Tutor.

This is my Proposed Title and Draft Abstract with links to the places mentioned.

Below I have copied and pasted some of the discussion and will add my own comments and reflections.

I found the tutorial quite difficult as there were a couple more of us in the group and everyone needed support with their proposed title.

Because of this there was a bit of confusion for me as to what was being discussed, the next person’s work or the last piece…

There were quite a few overlaps in topic form different people in the group.

Definitely a ‘memory theme’!

Pierre Nora was right..’ We talk so much about memory because there is so little of it left’….. was he right?

We are archiving more and more, often inadvertently .. but maybe remembering less and less..

This would be a topic for a good paper!!!

Dementia and digital archive- a link- a comparison?

Gosh! That would be interesting to write too…

However,

Research paper 15. 06. 15

An outline comparative exploration of the influence of collective memory and mythology on the affect of interaction with digital image and communications technology in the communities of The Reading Room Croughton http://www.croughton.org.uk/index.php/village-life/village-services/ and RAF Croughton, Northamptonshire https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RAF_Croughton

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_IaKs5ZjT8M

Draft Abstract

This paper will introduce an investigation into the collective memory and mythology which informs the use of digital image and communications technology of two geographically adjacent but culturally distinct communities in rural Northamptonshire, and the affect of this engagement.

The examination will take place through research into their geographical location, the epistemology and ideology which influences affect and interactions, the key historical events that have created this and their operation as spaces of social and performative action.

It will argue that both communities are influenced by and embedded in contemporary ideologies that have their basis in particular events embodied in collective memory and mythology which have a contemporary affect.

  • Geographical locations and communications network – Context
  • Local background history of emergence of both communities
  • Key historical events in national collective memory
  • The past use of imagery in both communities
  • Affect, technology and interaction and the reflexivity of this relationship.
  • Current situation in both communities
  • Future

Skype Chat Comments:

Peter saw the link with everyones work…… memory, time, materialality/immateriality

It made me realise again what  huge area to cover even though I thought I had narrowed it down!

I do interned just an introduction but that amy mean I don’t analyse in detail….

I’ll have to be very very careful and hone things down after presenting material.

It will be a great exercise for me!! Precis!

[16/06/2015 14:54:50] Rhiannon Evans: It is more of a social cultural investigation I fear… and I know some of the bullet points are “BIG’ but I just intend to introduce them in this context and with reference to these locations
[16/06/2015 14:55:31] Peter Mansell: but art and collective memory are massively linked – national monuments etc I agree but I will be more interested in ‘performative action ‘ than objects…apart of course form the newspapers which are related to both.
[16/06/2015 14:55:49] ceciliewf: you can make some kind of theoretical focus that focus the research and makes i more art related Yes, I think this may happen when I discuss imagery?
[16/06/2015 14:56:12] Rhiannon Evans: Yep that’s the sort of take on it but more about what peeople are doing than monuments etc.
[16/06/2015 14:56:39] Peter Mansell: art is the manifestation of the imaged life so will always be mythical – wont it? This is interesting and possibly true. Thinking about Jung and Archetypes…. it could be really relevant re collective unconscious and memory. Thanks Pete.
[16/06/2015 14:56:43] Gareth Polmeer: Some good ideas here. The questions of ‘the epistemology and ideology which influences affect and interactions’ are complex and would need to be expanded upon. There is a clear sophistication to your ideas, though the articulation of the points above could be simplified. I agree I will need to be simpler but oddly found it harder to explain simply in less theoretical language.

Maybe this is a bad sign?

That I need to make it Much Much simpler and I am trying to be too clever by half… I can’t carry that off!
[16/06/2015 14:57:20] Jonathan Kearney: (Gareth is also recommending this book as potentially useful for several of you — I was sure we had an ebook of it but sadly I don’t think we have, however I am going to request the ebook immediately after this chat session https://mitpress.mit.edu/books/imagery-21st-century ) I will look at this especially re.. military and gaming imagery and newspapers and how they have changed over time and in use.
[16/06/2015 14:57:23] Pascale Lemelin: you are right peter
[16/06/2015 14:57:30] Rhiannon Evans: yes there are specific things I want to compare but related then to the sites
[16/06/2015 14:57:52] Pascale Lemelin: if we were to put all of these together would be amazing, somehow! I suppose we will in our written submissions but then in our Final Show they will become explicit!
[16/06/2015 14:58:12] Yvonne Opalinski: Thanks, Jonathan, looks interesting.
[16/06/2015 14:58:30] Yvonne Opalinski: Agreed Pascale!!
[16/06/2015 14:58:30] Rhiannon Evans: I want it to be an introduction to the topic is this oK
[16/06/2015 14:58:40] Gareth Polmeer: http://www.rca.ac.uk/students/matthew-flintham/ This reference looks so specific and very useful though what I want to do is to compare the military communications and the domestic.
[16/06/2015 14:59:53] Rhiannon Evans: Thanks for this reference! sounds great. everything else I have come across depends on which side of the fence you are on..
[16/06/2015 15:00:22] Jonathan Kearney: Rhiannon yes that link from Gareth looks perfect for you

So the session left me with some more reading and some references too from other peoples chats… such as…

Pascale: Marshall McLuhan – The Gutenberg Galaxy: The Making of Typographic Man ( for use of type face and its influence on the press?)

Sarah: http://nro.sagepub.com/content/early/2013/07/10/1073858413495091.full Which is a research paper about memory that Sarah has been reading and looks good for general interest on Memory topics for me… mustn’t get distracted though…

She was recommended  Barthes…Camera Lucida which I have dipped into a long time ago and must read properly and the same with Henri Bergson..Matter and Memory which may be more relevant to me now that I am using video??

also Gareth recommended Chris Marker – La Jetee (time, memory, film made from still photos)

Anthi was thinking about De Duve time exposure and snapshot and was recommended Noel Burch’s book ‘Theory of Film Practice’ and the very good short section of ‘Spatial and Temporal Articulations’.

She is interested in short film especially but this may be useful for me..in my practice as may the others above.. rather than my written research…

He sent a link to this Stan Brakhage which I think I saw many moons ago at a screening at SLG…?

and mentioned

the durational aspect of films where not much happens, but they are still very long. e.g. Andy Warhol ‘Empire’ (8 hours)

and recommended this David Bordwell’s book ‘Narration in the Fiction Film’ but I can’t see it is applicable to mer… here for reference anyway… and this for Pascale

Mitchell in the book MediaArtHistories by Oliver Grau

There was lots of other interesting discussion about typography ( Pascale), Paradox in Art (Cecile) religion/ technology overlap ( Charles) Representation of disability, Memory in film, paint and emotion and particpuipation ( sorry folks there are r resumes of resumes!!!

A very interesting session.

Published by

rhiannon evans

I'm an MA student at Camberwell College of Art studying for MA Fine Art Digital. Thanks for looking

Leave a Reply

