The Reading Room – Background

Since the beginning of March I have been working on a project which has grown to be somewhat larger than I intended and has become an exploration for my practice as a whole.

During the Low Residency Tutorial with Dave Charlesworth, in particular,  it was clear that I needed to find a location  on which to base my process for future work.

I’m not sure what prompted the thought but I think it was the Digital Residents and Visitors talk on the Low Res.

I thought of this location also because I have been travelling to do some regular tuition work with a lovely family of home- educated children who live in the nearby village.

For me driving there was a bit of a ‘Journey down Memory Lane’, as for 10 years in my 20’s I worked close by on a farm site, my first ‘proper’ job after graduation.

Looking back it was pretty idyllic, strolling round fields all day listening to the skylarks and F1-11’s overhead and the occasional woodpecker ( and the crows!)

As I drove there I noticed the sign from Gigaclear, a promise to install ultra- high speed Broadband to the nearby villages.

I was struck by the fact that they still don’t have effective internet connections in these villages, only about 6 miles for the main town.

Also, that within a couple of miles or so there was RAF Croughton, a communications base used by the USAF.

Digital communications sent across the globe at superfast speeds. Some, reputedly involved in drone attacks and hacking of political leaders phones.

ThIs was made even more ? (not sure of the correct word here) incongruous / ironic, as it is going to double or more in size in the next few years.

At the beginning of March I made my first visit to Croughton, to investigate the village and it’s lack of Broadband/ proximity to some of the ‘Fastest Broadband in the West”!

I really need to look back over what I have been doing and am about to do to see where I go next as it feels as if a lot has happened in a short time.

Leave a Reply

