Reading Room Feedback from Group Crit.

 Below are roughly edited notes from the group crit on Tuesday 26.5.15

I was really pleased with the comments regarding the layering and how it works but I still have misgivings that it’s a bit of a naff way to show layering of time.

I hope that the unclear narrative means it is less line… that is what I want to show time and something which is non linear but layered in more than a past/ present future way..

Not that’s necessarily fits directly with the subject matter.

I think that I am thinking about the co-existence of different forms of communication in different times and the same place… and in different places at the same time…

After reading Walter B  and thinking about the letterpress/ print and its relationship to the internet and so on.

There are some core issues around certain areas of the material but i think I want these to be part of the main content but not the main focus of the work which will be the co-existance of this building and its history in the present day landscape.. both geographical and ? digital..

I am more and more interested in the psychogeographical side… especially as it comes to be related to the Pyschogeography of a digital space…

I will have to focus down at some point and after this crib went to get books from the library at CSM to think about things for our written research project.

I was interested in the comments below which seemed to fall into the following categories.

Speed: I was pleased the way the slowness worked…. hopefully to hightlight comparative speed in other areas… This was picked up on so that was good.

Layering:This seemed to work well for this group thought i still have misgivings at using it so obviously… maybe i can do other things to disrupt it in some way.

 Sound:This seemed to be effective and I DO like the ideas of layering this,.

I think the sound layering works very different from the visual layering and can be more confusing but there for disorienting which may be a good thing and also less ‘Romantic’ as away of disrupting time.

 I will look and listen to the site Jonathan mentioned.

 I agree with him absolutely that the sound needs to be more subtle… it was before I started faffing but was concerned that some ofd the main topics mayn’t be heard clearly.. maybe I should just allow ears to pick up the narrative as they wish , as I do the visual narrative.

 Symbols: I am sorry that the Sports Direct cards are too loaded with meaning  for Jonathan but understand what he means… I did worry about that but wanted to use them as a direct reference to the Building.

 I will try to alter them in some way but keep the reference… and not load the meaning more in the wrong direction… that could take an audience off down the wrong track.

 Also I was surprised how the individual objects were examined by the audience… I guess I am just used to seeing such objects in village halls and so on but others are not and they take on ‘extra special meanings’ particularly because of the ‘long- takes’.

 I just intended them to give a strong sense of place…… and with it  a possible dis jointing of time depending on their personal experiences… To an audience from a village near here they would not seem unusual but to a metropolitan city dweller in any city… they will be seen differently.

Some of my thoughts weren’t that obvious through he film … or weren’t picked up… the Hyper and layered mediation and the way of using the camera noise and movements to remove a sense of immediacy… though actually I think Yvonne did pic up on this. and said that it .”adds to sense of “this is a moment” and we are viewing peices but not priviledged to know what every detail means…it’s better because leaves room for interpretation” or at least I hope i understood this correctly.

So pleased to think about from the Crit. and I am so glad to be back in the group for this kind of thing.

I will post again soon about my next steps which are constantly in my mind but not making their way out very easily into work…..

I seem to have been reading and looking at so much different art that as Claire said… ‘ I need to go and lie down in a darkened room for a few weeks’ to let it all mesh together…Anyway

and some good ideas for watching films … which is fun research!!!

Quotes below:

I was trying to unravel your message, which in itself held my attention. I love the layering which was not at all chaotic, very calm. Internet juxtaposed with an old village hall…. the imagery was quite beautiful. I found the politics hard to place.
 The sound works well with the images, really transmitting various emotions.

At the start, the newspaper page flipping has an agitation about it, the noises of the people shuffling in, the political commentary becoming distant, removed from the very personal…it takes one in to reveal but not
something compelling and the layering begins to work. loved the imagery

Me too, I found the layering engaging, transparent qualities
 I found the narrative open or complext and difficult to grasp. 2) so myown sense of it was about the loacl/national and individual/group with the personal history juxtoposed against the national background of the election. 3) I enjoyed the pace of the video – it slowed me down

 I am listening on headphones here, so very aware of how the sound is also almost in layers or at least using left and right channels
 I haven’t tried it yet without the layering… but I was worried that it would be chaotic and confued cos theres lots going on.

The sound is so crisp

Did anyone notice the noise and jumpiness of the camera and if so any thoughts?
 but that adds to sense of “this is a moment” and we are viewing peices but not priviledged to know what every detail means…it’s better because leaves room for interpretation

some kind of threat to these places, village halls that is. It seemed kind of precious in your video… the serious tone of politics and giga something communities were a contrast?
 yes that is a good way to describe the sound – ‘crisp’ — at times however it felt that some sound was too dominant and a more subtle approach would help
 no the visuals didn’t look jumpy to me
 Was that intended?
Yes Jumpy and noise were intended
 yes the rode mic is very good, it is the editing where I think you can be more subtle
 the transition, audio and video based, were really smooth going and easy for me to move with
Yep I think it was better before i started messing with it…
 Levels wise.
yes adjusting the levels is just like adjusting the curves in an image, you have almost endless variations to play with
 It’s all new to me the sound thing and although I have headphones I can here stuff outside in the garden and get confused by it!!
Sound is a whole other dimension… so important for me

Jonathan Kearney:  about sound, there is a very technical but useful concept to think about here…
 diegetic sound and non-diegetic sound

Jonathan Kearney: you are beginning to play with this in this film but there is more you can explore
easiest definition here http://www.filmsound.org/terminology/diegetic.htm

.
Jonathan Kearney: so the sound of the turning newspaper page is diegetic, the sound of the radio discussion in non-diegetic

 that is especially relevant with some of the other things `i am working on but not fit to be shown yet,…
 The radio was on in the background as I made the screen recording.. I didn’t realise it would be recorded!Ha! but useful
Jonathan Kearney: it is a basic audio technique for film but it is also something you can play with conceptually as well

Yvonne Opalinski: Both tell a story…that’s how I see sound as a subtext that supports or subverts the visual
great way of putting it, ‘support or subvert the visuals
Thats really useful Yvonne as a way of describing how I want to move in and out of the supporting role of the sound in other pieces..
Jonathan Kearney: there is a huge amount artists can should learn about sound from film making, there is a lot of practice based experience that we can draw on

: I am watching a lot of movies 🙂
What do you all think of the playing cards if anything…?
Jason Murray: Nicholas Roag films would be a good reference for sound

Jonathan Kearney: Rhiannon, that rest of that website that I linked to is useful http://filmsound.org/ — terrible design to the site but full of useful stuff

Jason Murray: Roeg/ Walkabout and Performance
 Its good working in the dark to start with but …

Jonathan Kearney: I was going to ask about the playing cards, I read them in one way due to the manufacturers name on the back (Sports Direct .com is a large sports shop with warehouse style shops and a huge website — they are known for cheap prices but exploitative employment practices)so I couldn’t really see beyond that
There was a pub like element with the Fosters glasses and playing cards…?!
They are the type used by the Reading Room for their Whist drives but the link you mentioned seemed relevant to me…. hopefully thinkgs may be clearer as i work through the material…

Yvonne Opalinski: Didn’t know that at all, which puts a completely different spin on the meaning. Before, it was a symbol of static life rather than active life, but now it could be representational of those who have been exploited, this is how they pass their days… sort of chewed up and spit out… it’s all they have left

 Jason Murray: I agree, Sarah, I thought Working Mans Clubs in the North of England
 Yes It is a place that is neither pub nor village hall but was a Reading room in the past for newspapers to be provided for the estate workers by local land owner and benefactor..
Yvonne Opalinski: Also the glass was empty of water even though the flowers appeared “fresh”, I saw that right away since I’m always changing the water for any fresh cut flowers we have, but again it’s meaning was alluring
 I have been ‘altering ‘ the cards as on my blog for maybe an ‘alternative’ game of whist in the Reading Room..
Jonathan Kearney: maybe the flowers were plastic?!
yes, but again, such a contrast from the English village hall with its table cloths and flowers etc.
Yes Plastic…
 Jonathan Kearney: Rhiannon I think the altered cards on your blog have some potential, but maybe you need to consider the reverse side and create that side as well?

Jason Murray: Rhiannon, watch the opening graphics for the animation Monkey Dust
Sarah Robinson: Oh! Interesting, Rhiannon. I have never known such a place. Things start to fall into place with this knowledge

Jason Murray: Major rhetoric/ Blair rhetoric

one of the things I want to do is open the venue as a ‘reading room again for a day…
 Peter Mansell: ah but reading what?!

Published by

rhiannon evans

I'm an MA student at Camberwell College of Art studying for MA Fine Art Digital. Thanks for looking

Leave a Reply

