The Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

I watched this film with Jim Carey and Kate Winslet but haven’tt watched it previously because of a prejudice against Jim Carey for being too manic!

Anyway, it is an interesting film based mainly on the Consolidation Theory of Memory rather than the Connectivist Theory ( apparently). The way embodied memory is entangled with other object and  sensory memories rather than a technological, digital structure of memory.

That is that memory is not permanent and can be ( and is  anyhow) changed.

It’s very amusing but with a serious undertone but because it was so good I forgot to watch how the director, `Michael Gondry, moves so easily from present to past and back… what devices he uses.

I’ll just have to watch it again.

Also, I  looked briefly at the Connectionist Theory explained here by a Stanford Paper and how it is now incorporated into learning and other spheres and has been developed since the internet… I will look at this more…

I also tried to watch Cloud Atlas with a list of stars too long to mention here… I  found it so dreadful  and long I just couldn’t make it to the end… Maybe the book is better… bout it really is everything I would never want to do in a film!!

Odd really as it is by the Wachowski Brothers and they have done such amazing things before….

Ha!

I say that now… but…

Obviously,  what I am looking to do is on a tiny, tiny scale but I do feel I need to look at how these things are done, visually,even if i can’t/ don’t want to do the same…and it makes me think more about the topic generally and how I got from my original Proposal to where I am now.

What is the link?
How can I make this manifest as I feel that may be very important…

Leave a Reply

