Into Unknown Territory!

I’ve been making lots of video and sound bits and pieces and have come up against all sorts of technical problems and other phenomena as I am not really a film maker.

I have been using my bridge camera Panasonic FZ 200, which is fine for the job — lots of options to play with and simple to use but I forgot that, because I am filming quiet scenes there is lots of camera noise…..

Also I ordered an external Rode mic which is great but directional as most people with this sort of camera are filming for Youtube vids and stuff I guess. Anyhow it was OK but there is a stereo available so I have returned it and got a new one… Vast expense for Postage mainly to get the thing here in time to use.

Sp now I have to decide whether to use the footage with the camera sound on…. and the clips with me setting up the camera and so on to show that it is indeed being filmed…. ( like using the iPhone and iMac evidence to show a human presence and so the mediation a… reducing the sense of immediacy…)

Or whether to try to made a ‘good’ movie!

Will that do what I want or will I just possibly produce something rather sentimental and nice to look at…

I am in unknown territory here and have been looking at the clips I have made and having to consider not just the ‘ quality’ of the audio and video and how I want the final product to look, and not just the content… but also other things like my use of

‘Mise en Scene’, long takes and low angles.

Standard Cinematography stuff I guess, but all new to me.

The book Cinematic Storytelling by Jennifer van Sijll has been really useful and simple to use.

I want to avoid a linear narrative but am already finding that iMovie does not give me the options I need. I need access to Final Cut and hope that it will do what I want… maybe time to invest if I am going down this route…Trouble is I want to do other things with performance and participation and not get hung up on just the film… I’ll have to be very careful not to get too involved in all the options and so distracted.

I’ve also been looking at other bits of video on Youtube and so on relating to the area.

I found some footage made by other people and have contacted them to ask if I can use clips from their videos.

One has replied and said’ Yes’ so that’s good!

Anyway, I’ve been looking at the work of the following artists, some of whom I have looked at before but have been thinking again about what they do and how it fits with my aims now.

This is sort of taken from Wikipedia and other places but cobbled together as I think it is quite important.

Stan Douglas is based in Vancouver, British Columbia. HIs film and video installations, photography( fact and fiction), frequently touch on the history of literature, cinema and music, and examine the “failed utopia” of modernism and obsolete technologies.  He often references Samuel Beckett and Marcel Proust, E.T.A. Hoffmann and the Brothers Grimm, blues and free jazz, television and Hollywood, Karl Marx and Sigmund Freud. He uses time and in particular, slowed-down time or stillness. Der Sandmann,an installation from 1995 is  based on E.T.A. Hoffman’s original 1816 short story and Sigmund Freud’s 1919 essay “The Uncanny”. He uses a double projection where the film is literally split down the middle and reassembled so the two sides are slightly out of sync. There is a feeling of heterochrony which is intensified further by his techniques.This creates this feeling of a “temporal gap” and so disrupts the sense of unity which is crucial to modernism, so that “everything is deferred and delayed. He also uses Over projection.

Here are some videos to show how his work relates to my ideas… especially the over projection thing…

I’ve also had a look at Duncan Campbell: It for Others

Re Constructed Histories and emendation of imagery…

Duncan Campbell Wins Turner Prize 2014 With IRA Film
wochit News
Published on Dec 1, 2014
Irish-born Glasgow artist Duncan Campbell won Britain’s prestigious Turner Prize on Monday for an essay film using a famous image of an Irish Republican Army guerrilla to explore how histories can be constructed. His winning entry, “It For Others”, uses the 1971 image of Joe McCann, sometimes called “the Che Guevara of the IRA”, to show how images can be turned into commodities of mass culture. The famous picture of McCann, who was shot dead by British soldiers less than a year after the photo was taken, became part of pop culture to the point where the image of McCann and his M1 rifle was emblazoned on T-shirts and Christmas stockings.

This is interesting!

Using Letterpress to make posters.

I looked at Tris Vonna Michell because of his use of analogue slides re: his tUrner prize work but then realised that his previous work is performance based

“Using the precarious analogue technology of slide projectors, paired with his own recorded voice, Tris Vonna-Michell creates poignantly fractured travelogues that have won him a Turner prize nomination. Here he explains his work in more detail”
Source: Tate
Friday 3 October 2014 12.50 BST

Published on Sep 30, 2014
Multilayered narratives delivered as audio recordings and slide projections feature in the work of Turner Prize 2014 nominee Tris Vonna-Michell.

“This work relates to personal trajectories. Some are fictive, I never really knew the difference”, says Tris Vonna-Michell on the solo exhibition held at Jan Mot galley in Brussels that won him the nomination. Titled Postscript (Berlin) IV, the work features a recorded monologue and two slide projections that take the viewer back and forth in time, as Vonna-Michell meshes together circuitous narratives related to his family’s experiences in Berlin with images that may or may not be connected. In this film, the artist talks of the freedom and immediacy his method of working allows and tells the story of this artwork via the recorded speech his practice employs, saying: “by making this work the voice belongs but the body’s gone”

The Guardian
‘The voice belongs but the body is gone’:

Turner prize 2014 nominee Tris Vonna-Michell explains his work

A performance cycle – Tris Vonna-Michell, 2010
from Nomas Foundation 4 years ago NOT YET RATED

Archiving, gathering, exhibiting, recounting, remembering, loving, desiring, ordering, mapping. A performance cycle.

Tris Vonna-Michell au Jeu de Paume
Tris Vonna-Michell : “Finding Chopin: Endnotes 20052009” DU 20 OCTOBRE 2009 AU 17 JANVIER 2010

I am really excited by finding this work. It brings me back somehow to what I want to do, by involving some performative element, hopefully without getting too involved in making ‘good video’!

I must keep track of how I want to use the material I’ve been collecting… so its not an end in itself…

It’s not about the video really or the audio…. they are just material to work with.

I’m going to a public performance symposium at Modern Art Oxford next Saturday so hopefully that will help a little to inspire and get me out of a video loop hole!

I also went yesterday to the VIDEOVADA workshop using PraxisLive for interactive video installations

I looked again at Shona IllingworthBalnakeil and The Watchmaker and watched this interview from MAOxford when there was a symposium to go with a Kerry Tribe exhibitiion

She describes how the original was an immersive  installation

How she felt about the ‘folding in of time…rather than linear flashback. How the past is very much in the present.

She also describes how”societies need to create a coherent narrative for the past’ and the notion of latency ‘ The time interval between initiating a query, transmission, or process, and receiving or detecting the results,…’ Definition by The Free Dictionary.

She also talks about Geopolitics and how these exist in this time framework.

Previously I had looked at Balnakeil and thought it was a too romantic piece of work for me to reference directly although he accompanying material in my earlier blog is interesting and useful;…drawings, mappings… etc.

Now I think this is very relevant and will read the catalogue.

My next step is to make a list of things I want to do,

How I want to do them and

Do Them!…

I really need to be doing things with the material and recognising the limitations of my software and skills…

And re- write my Draft Proposal.!!!

Leave a Reply

