Things I am learning that might be useful one day

Yesterday I ‘helped’ at another session of Oxfordshire Youth Arts Partnership (OYAP)  Digiarts session at The Studio in Bicester.

It is good for me to be with younger creative people and join in with ‘doing stuff’ which is fun without thinking too much..!

Last time we made shadow puppets, this time we were making FlipBooks and Thaumotropes.

I didn’t take photos of mine…I forgot and left them there as examples of possibly what not to do!

I created a very detailed storyboard  about an escaping balloon ( based I now realise on a picture book one of my sons had a long time ago!!) for my FlipBook but which didn’t work as the images were too close to the Flippy end!

I was introduced to the idea of KISS!

Keep It Simple, Stupid.

Which I hadn’t heard before.. but I guess is the same as ‘less is more’.

We decided that Keep It Simple, Silly. was perhaps gentler.. but hopefully still as effective!!

Adam made great animation though from the storyboard using Clay Frames- OnionSkin.

I hadn’t come across this onionskin idea as I have never done any animation…

It makes me think of the overlaid tracing paper drawings  of Unscheduled that I made in 2012.

Also the Photographic FlipBook from the images at Gunpowder Park for ‘ Wise or Wicked’.

Maybe I should look at that work again.

I’ve found an Open Source  software  Pencil2D which has onionskin, in case I need it at some time in the future.

Adam also mentioned the frame rates needed for good animation and using time-lapse.

Time lapse is something I have thought about with the Salt Way videos to mess things up bit and I may do so.

Still some sort of ‘layer thing’ going on here I feel…..

Otherwise, I don’t want to think too much about frame-rates etc as I want things to be ‘ as they are’ rather than constructed, and to reflect on what they have done rather than decide what I want them to do… if that is clear.

Odd really, as in my initial readings of Visualising Feeling: Susan Best, she is already talking about the time-frame of affect and how, for instance, anxiety is an anticipatory affect….interesting!

Leave a Reply

