Things I may forget I have done!

Here’s a list of things I have been doing which do not yet ‘fit ‘ into directly into any work but are process and hopefully find a place somewhere at sometime.

1.

Last night I created a Snapchat account.

I’ve been thinking about these Time- Limited social media like Snapchat and Vine and wondering about using them to present my work when it is not appropriate for or not yet ready for use in some installation -type exhibition…

They may give a viewing space which suits as a virtual time- based interactive and ?’democratic’ space for short video and images.

I have yet to try it and have to work out how to video and photograph what I am doing in the studio for this platform as it will be different from putting it on my blog.

Documentation of my process is already proving very difficult as I don’t treacly have the technical knowhow or kit, time or space to set up cameras etc to document the stuff I am doing with various projectors in a dark small space in my studio….

I guess I’ll find a way which hopefully isn’t too formal as I don’t want to spend hours on the documentation instead of the work…unless that becomes the work….!!! back to where I started hey!

2.

I’ve been using my phone to video random clips of things that I do, that are unwitnessed by others.. such as showering and sleeping.

This has something to do with  the fact that part of me doesn’t really  feel it is necessary to ‘display’ what I have done.. that once it is done it is done… and that is the work.

Privacy/ secret/ unnecessary/ sufficient action…. not sure anyway it ids about ..if no one sees it does it mean it hasn’t happened.. the old falling tree in the forest thing I guess.

Or maybe i’ll use these in some other combination a la Pippolltti Rist!!

3.

I went to see Pipolotti Rist at Hauser and Wirth on Savile Row in London on Friday 9th.

I have lots of video of the incredible and wonderful immersive ( and I do really mean immersive) installation.

It was inspiring and totally relaxing and I realised that lying down in galleries has become ‘ en vogue’ after Marina Abramovic  at the Serpentine in the summer and now this.

It was interesting for me as there were random layered clips  of things like a lit gas ring and water pools on top of more continuing imagery of plants.. NETTLES!!! Hey! and  human skin

So it was relevant from several points of view.

A.

The content of plants and nature reminded me of the video on The Salt Way from which I keep meaning to revisit and mess with 2008.

Mine is more still camera and sky but has some of the same feel.

Though not her trademark vibrant colour… but I wouldn’t want that.

B.

The way the layering becomes like a painting… I’d discovered this when layering the slides etc myself but it felt really relevant in this exhibition.

C.

The soundtrack.. which was very gentle mixed sounds including music.

I’ve been thinking more about sound but not wanting to include any extra electronics or music.

I had a brief exchange with Ed Kelly about mixing but have had to concentrate on on cables/ connections and other visual stuff first so `i feel I can actually have some of the right tools to hand an maybe even be able to use them…

The whole effect was very gently ‘triply’ in a nice way and the gallery full of young people who looked like art students!!! and wore students clothes instead of grey, black with sever hair cuts and smart coats!

This isn’t meant to be judgmental but I felt comfortable lying on the floor with these guys and ‘in the right place’.

It changed the way the Gallery staff behaved as well with them all smiley and friendly and sort of having fun.

Even at the gallery nest door but one the atmosphere of generosity and openness has spread… It was magical!

4.

I covered my iPhone in salt crystals and played video o I made of walking along Salt Way on it and refilmed.

There is some distortion but I just wanted to see the effect.

I have not picked the best clip visually as I was walking and talking with a friend and some of the conversation was audible and personal.

I will have to sort other clips with good visuals too if I decide to use this.

5.

I have been watching Black Mirror back episodes and spotting the Neuromancer references….

Listening to Charlie Brooker  is interesting as he talks about things that were fantasy becoming reality after he had made each episode.

I had just finished reading Neuromancer when the Korean/ Sony hacking debacle started.

It was as if they had read the book and Case was responsible…

IMG_0853

6.

Also I have been watching Homeland and loving the Titles!

Overlay of video and stills seems to be ‘the thing’ but I want to do it in real space/time with analogue and digital together.

Leave a Reply

