Connection, communication and time/space layers

It has been a long time since my last post though I like to think I’ve been doing a lot…. at least it feels like it!

I’ve spent/ wasted an inordinate amount of time thinking about things I would like to do, researching the cables needed, messing around with cables and connectors and then realising I maybe don’t like what I am doing or it doesn’t yet fit with what I want to do ‘right now’.

So , one of these things was to try to use my camera/iPhone and laptop to film me live so that I could incorporate this into a projection as per Joan Jonas….

I fiddled and faffed for what seemed like weeks as my projector is new (2014), my laptop is old (2008) and my iPhone is newish ( 4S bought this year).

Nothing seems to work quite right with anything else.

I get some images but not the right ones in the right window or ‘space ‘ or they are inclusive of screen or they don’t work at all and I try HDMI and VGA and every damn thing and some work sometimes and other other times and in the end it has been everything I did not want this to be which is the tech becoming the work not the work using the tech!

So now I at least can attach most of what I have got to most of what I have got and get some image from it.

I am not concerned with high res or image quality so that helps I jet want to be able to get a variety of imagery from a range of sources, some live and some documented : some still and some moving so that I can mess with them at the same time.

I guess I have got there so that I can do what I want to do when I need to and it doesn’t interrupt the ‘ flow’ too much at the time..

Oh for an AV technician and store where I can just go and get the stuff and set it up in a free space.

Have I blogged and moaned about this before…I can’t remember…

My studio is now a mess of old analogue and new digital apparatus with cables all over and ‘stuff’ hanging down off the ceiling for projection purposes.

Progress is painfully slow in the making department but I am now

  • projecting with two analogue slide projectors face to face across a hanging  film of muslin so the images combine in the middle…sometimes with black tissue to alter the final surface.
  •  projecting sometimes an analogue and a digital face to face, one with video and one with stills on slide.

I HAVE NOT A CLUE WHY I AM DOING THIS….yet…

Something to do with layering and interface and no- interface but it needs extension.

  • I have made home made slides from images ( scans of cling film drawings of old photographs and scans of the old photograph originals) from acetate and used these
  • They don’t melt if you leave them for a limited time in view.: Sometimes these stick and separate in the auto function so I have spent many a happy hour unjamming cartridges, slides, carousels .. also replacing old bulbs, sourcing new ones, fainting at the cost…..
  • Ones printed on acetate with inkjet DO smudge no matter what the advertising states but maybe I can use this smudginess in the future to good effect.
  • I’ve also made some prints from the A4 inkjet on acetate copies and they make interesting acetates when the print has been taken off … See below

    This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So my actions are still about using 2D images and video but since finishing Neuromance and overhearing my sons at Christmas chatting about ‘getting into’ a server in a set time -frame I ma thinking more widely about digital geography and the psychogeography of the space.

Also I guess the psycho- geography of any space I may create and the nature of virtual image..?

I have been moving ‘stuff’ in my studio, propping things up, lifting the heavy projectors, arranging the cables and then projecting the images which float until they arrive on a surface, wherever that may be..maybe meeting another image or a physical surface…….

I’ve been reading

Digital and physical surfaces.
Published:London : Chelsea College of Art & Design, 2007.

Presentation of practice based research by Brook & Black, Shelagh Cluett, Paul Coldwell, Philip Courtenay, Maryclare Foá, Jo Love, Barbara Rauch, Andrew Stiff, James Faure Walker, David Waterworth, David Webster, Jungu Yoon.

and

Walking and mapping : artists as cartographers / Karen O’Rourke.
Author:O’Rourke, Karen.
Published:Cambridge, Massachusetts : The MIT Press, [2013].

Which I guess has influenced this.

I have made notes which I will post separately and have some pages in hard copy as I still like to have a physical book where possible and pages copied after to scribble on.

The images and video I’m including here don’t really do justice to what I am doing as to get good doc imagery would take forever to set up lighting and composition wise so I will just use these and my other files as aide memoir

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Published by

rhiannon evans

I'm an MA student at Camberwell College of Art studying for MA Fine Art Digital. Thanks for looking

2 thoughts on “Connection, communication and time/space layers”

  1. Hi Pete
    Thanks for this!
    I hope I know when I get to the end……
    Where ever that is!
    Re your last comment ages ago on my proposal and possible changes…
    I’m not sure if the key question will change but possibly the methods I use and maybe the methodology too.
    I’ve got a lot of posting to do before tomorrow 1pm!!!
    Not the right way to do it….

    All best
    Rhiannon

    Like

Leave a Reply

