Shared Memories

Today has not turned out as planned.

I had started to read ‘Mediated Memories in a Digital Age‘ by Jose van Dijck and although very interesting and useful, her discussion in the introduction regarding  the use of mediated images and conversation as a way of sharing past experience, has made me feel somewhat distressed and uncomfortable. In particular, the importance of this in constructing both a shared and personal autobiography for our sense of continuity between past and future,

It has confirmed and acknowledged why I have found the lack of this, when it has occurred in my personal life, so difficult.

As a single child, now with no parents, there is very rarely anyone to ‘verify’ or discuss ‘shared’ memories with, even though I acknowledge that the accounts are often different for different people.

Not being able to share memories of my own, or my children’s childhoods and teenage years with someone who was always there is a source of sorrow to me and even the initial reading of this book has brought this home.

photos on cling-0030

Then, unexpectedly, I received a text from a friend and colleague, Kathy, who told me of the death of Keith, our life-model during our Fine Art Foundation Course at OCVC  from 2003-5.

I had already heard from Jon that he was very poorly.

Talking to Kathy about Keith, all the people who remember him, the connections between us, our interactions and how these continue, demonstrated to me one of the many other shared collective experiences in my life, despite this originating from such a sad event.

2 thoughts on “Shared Memories

  1. But you have shared many of your childhood and teenage memories with us your friends and brought them wonderfully alive for us in a way that those of us with shared backgrounds often don’t bother to do x

    _____

    From: RHIANNON EVANS MA FINE ART DIGITAL [mailto:comment-reply@wordpress.com] Sent: 14 November 2014 11:52 To: helenbrowne@tiscali.co.uk Subject: [New post] Shared Memories

    rhiannon evans posted: “Today has not turned out as planned. I had started to read ‘Mediated Memories in a Digital Age’ by Jose van Dijck and although very interesting and useful, her discussion in the introduction regarding the use of mediated images and conversation as a w”

    Like

    1. This is thoughtful and thanks for this!
      I think my post came across as rather miserable which wasn’t the case…
      We are encouraged in these research blogs to reflect on aspects of our practice that are not easy.
      On the areas which cause us discomfort and reflect on why this may be the case.
      This is so that we can analyse what we make in the light of this and be honest with ourselves about why we do what we do and what it means to us..if not other viewers!

      I am pleased you have enjoyed some of the stories I tell and certainly we can share memories of our respective childhoods and adolescences, wherever and whenever they take place!
      What I really meant but possibly didn’t express very well is that there are few people. and none for much of my childhood, who at the time, experienced things with me (even though obviously their experiences would have been different). People who can say ‘do you remember when?’.
      This is, for different reasons, the same with my family experiences of my sons growing up.
      I think this same feeling is experienced to some extent by everyone, as all experiences are of course, individual to us.
      Hence the ‘Sharing’ on Facebook and other social media and the need for searching for old friends from our past who can provide our points of reference.
      There is also something interesting about using a Blog as a personal reflective diary which is read by ‘Followers’
      It was a shock to receive your comment and realise that people do read these reflections.
      Especially when these are people I see in my regular life!
      This is much more uncomfortable than the initial thoughts I posted in the blog….
      I will have to write a post about that!
      Thanks for the comment and the resulting stream of consciousness.
      Rhiannon

      Like

Leave a Reply

