Overlay or continuum?

Just had this posted through as I draft my proposal.

I will try and see it on Friday when I go to the velodrome for Revolution.

Schizophrenia and Taiwan 2.0 

Jung’s Theory of Synchronicity, once more as my old Pa would have said.

I have been writing about the overlay of past history and contemporary technological presence in locations which are significant to me.

This is an example which hadn’t occurred to me.

Taiwan ( Formosa during WWII) was the place my father was held prisoner by the Japanese from 1942/3 to 1945.

Some years ago I met a Taiwanese student, aged around 20, as we were both waiting for a train with our bikes on an otherwise deserted rural  railway station in Warwickshire.

As we were chatting I mentioned my father’s time there.

She knew nothing about it. It was not part of her history.

Much of the equipment I use from day-to-day probably uses components made or assembled there.

Overlay or continuum?

Published by

rhiannon evans

I'm an MA student at Camberwell College of Art studying for MA Fine Art Digital. Thanks for looking

Leave a Reply

