Weeks two – three: proposal and practice

Proposal – reflections

The last couple of weeks have been interesting! Thinking so much about the Proposal made me feel like rabbit in the headlights. I initially wanted to hide in reading theory as I had done just before starting this MA to make me feel as if I ‘knew something’.

Henri Bergson – Matter and Memory.

Then to take train to London to seek inspiration  and comfort in a library of solid, sweet smelling books.

This is surely seeking reassurance form others who have already passed this way as well as finding  academic and practice  contexts.

After our web- chat on Tuesday 16.9.14 I watched the video links and found Jo Love’s discussion of her practice -based PhD proposal  helpful, partly because she was talking about print and it’s possibilities – The way she draws on print and uses digital and analogue together – a ‘material’ practice that really explores the nature of the image.

I have been thinking of working with a local print workshop and wondering how I can ‘justify’ this in my practice and proposal.This lecture will help me think more about print-making as a methodology and also my need for justification! I will post the link when I finally update to a new computer and can simply copy and paste it from Skype chat- not possible for this ‘old laptop’. Discussions of ‘old and update’ later…

The David Cross lecture regarding Research Methodology gave me a feeling of confidence in just ‘following my nose’ in search of direction – of trusting in my senses to lead me. I liked the description of the ‘action-based’ model from social science which very much fits with how I feel emotionally about my practice . However, I tend to want to make a tangible object sometimes.

Is this another justification thing? Something that I feel people will accept, understand and value rather than my place-related responses. Part of me knows that these actions and their residue do affect people and that they do carry them in their memory and conversation as well as formal documentation and yet I still feel a sense of inadequacy as their purposeful un-monumental quality.

Quite a paradox to unravel before or during the writing of my proposal.

I often feel as if I am saying one thing about my work and my intentions and yet doing another—–that there is insufficient clarity. Some years ago Sarah Cole commented that I did not take what I did seriously  enough and that my practice would never have an absolute clarity as it was not that sort of practice. That was most useful at the time. There are references to personal mythology in my work, not necessarily mine and sometimes collective. Maybe it is time to realise those connections again?

Practice

At the end of Week two  I started to play with some cassette tapes that belonged to my late father and asked a colleague, Claire Winfield, to film on my iPhone ( also filming her playing too). Initially the  action was intended to be about the haptic quality of the tape and the associated sound it produced. I had thought of a much bigger performative action at some point, using my whole body and some’ wrapping’ type action which features a lot in my work. Some years ago I had started to knit a blanket with the tape but stopped before it was large enough to do anything with, Maybe time to re-visit.

The documentation I chose to work with was of me ‘playing with the tape’. I had looked through some old C.D’s in the studio which had belonged to Claire’s recently deceased mother, as for the future piece I wanted to use sound which may be on the original tape, during the performance. The only music suitable was Sibelius Finlandia. This was a strange coincidence ( I am fascinated by co-incidence) as it is

  • Is well-known as an English hymn ‘ Be Still my Soul ‘ lyrics written by Katharina Amalia Dorothea von Schlegel in the 17th century.

Be still, my soul, the Lord is on thy side; Bear patiently the cross of grief or pain. Leave to thy God to order and provide; In every change He, faithful, will remain. Be still, my soul, thy best, thy heavenly friend Through thorny ways leads to a joyful end.

  • known for its Nationalistic links ( pertinent with the action being considered by the British Government at this time
  • known for its WWII associations ( both my father and Claire’s were Prisoners of War in the Far East from the fall of Singapore in 1942 to VJ day following Hiroshima and Nagasaki)
  • by a composer who was loved bothe by my father and me.
  • also has Welsh lyrics ( Gweddi dros Gymru or A Prayer for Wales) -my father was a Welsh speaker and `Claire’s mother Welsh by birth.

We played  the CD, I played with the tape and Claire filmed. I have edited the video roughly as iMovie audio fade out won’t work properly (yet another old version) and played with exposure/contrast/brightness to give three versions below.

I find playing a combination of them together interesting and imagine them projected, possibly as an immersive installation.

I will play with projection next.

I also made some tracing drawings of photo documentation from an action from October 2012 and some traced drawings from stills of the video. See Post below for further details.

2 thoughts on “Weeks two – three: proposal and practice”

    1. Iknow why I make what I do but feel that if I make objects or drawings, tangible things, rather just doing a small almost invisible action, some people will recognise it as ‘Art’. There is part of me that needs to follow their expectations. Some of this is because I live in a community not used to the sort of thing I ( and many other artists) do, where I am constantly challenged by their traditional expectations.
      I guess this is also part of my practice. I have worked with this uncomfortable boundary before and should again I guess.
      I chose and choose to live here and love the things that I also find difficult about this place.
      I chose and choose to live here

      Like

Leave a Reply

