Week three : Blog ‘ Who were you when you made the work?’

Last week’s web-chat was about how to use our MA blog as a reflective research tool. I admit that I felt rather uncomfortable with this because of the personal process of writing and the public demonstration so immediately through publishing regularly. As a young teenager I loved my 7-year diary with a lock and key. Private thoughts and reflections. I like to make and create my work, carry out my actions, document my process( sometimes obsessively), hold it in on my personal hard-drive and trust that the residue of that will be experienced and carried forwards by others, possibly also invisibly. There is a large part of me that feels that is enough, it is done.
Little or nothing needs to be ‘shown’, exhibited’.
Every small action is cumulative, personally and collectively. We are our archive.

So this action of regular posting is, for me, essential for my reflective practice within the academic MA framework but also as part of the questions which will provide the framework for my MA. They are inextricably linked.

I have been unwell for most of the week and am still somewhat restricted, and so have been spending time sleeping, possibly dreaming and assimilating invisibly all the new information that bounces around at the start of a new project.

I have even had very vague and developing visions of how I may make visible some work in a way that feels comfortable. That’s interesting. Especially as I searched around in the e-library for some ‘pictures’ to inspire me before I went to sleep.

Often the work of other artists thinking about the same issues as me  e.g. Kerry Tribe does not excite or move me. I find it very interesting but not affecting. This concerns me. I do want to steer clear of pure sentiment however, which is always a danger when considering memory. As I write this post I acknowledge, of course , that Jonathan Kearney was correct. I still feel uncomfortable with making my process visible, possibly more to myself than others. As he said …the blog acts as a mirror and he gave us this quote.
In the act of writing, you are written – Daniel Chandler

Daniel Chandler is a semiotician based at Aberystwyth University who saw at its introduction, the computer, as a means of expression rather than information for learners. (‘Aber’ coincidently has featured in my past professional and personal lives- note to self- Chart coincidences! ) Referencing it has reminded me of an artist I have found exciting – Mike Pearson )
This reminds me to look again to Liveart for what I may need to employ.

Published by

rhiannon evans

I'm an MA student at Camberwell College of Art studying for MA Fine Art Digital. Thanks for looking

Leave a Reply

